Commentator of the Year


Presented with a high-calibre sextet from which to choose a winner, this category took the judges a fair bit of deliberation because even after the first round of scoring there wasn’t much in it amongst four of the journalists in question. Following a second phase of adjudication, the judges eventually reached a decision with The Times and Sunday Times’ James Coney emerging triumphant.

“James takes a bold approach and writes in a powerful way. In these submissions he demonstrated how he foresaw the big stories,” one judge commented. “James provided readers with original and early analysis on the problems at Woodford which forearmed unsuspecting investors of the risks they were exposed to months before the fund in question was actually gated. His strong, clear and accessible writing style is a major plus as well,” a second judge added.


  • Victoria Bischoff, Daily Mail
  • James Coney, The Times and The Sunday Times
  • Simon Lambert, This is Money
  • Rachel Rickard Straus, Moneywise
  • Ruth Sunderland, Daily Mail
  • Laura Whateley, Freelance, for work on The Times



Sponsored by

Proud sponsor of Commentator of the Year

Octopus Investments, part of the Octopus Group, is an award-winning, fast-growing investment business dedicated to delivering quality services and products to financial advisers and investors across the UK. We offer products ranging from tax-efficient investments to multi-manager funds, UK smaller company investing, cash management and peer to peer lending. At Octopus we champion the value of financial advice and passionately believe that more people and their families could benefit from financial planning. We want to change the world of investments by offering a straight-talking approach, exceptional customer service and a range of products that aim to do what they say they will.

Find out more


By continuing to use the site you agree to our cookies policy. Accept